Category Archives: Carman-Ainsworth District

Dye Elementary Newsletter

Dye Parent Club News

Leo’s Coney Island Fundraiser - November 19th 4:00pm-8:00pm

Five Below Fundraiser - November 20th-26th

Holiday Gift Shop – December 8th-12th

Plan on attending our next meeting on Tuesday, December 2nd at 4:15pm

Second Grade Concert

Thursday, November 20th; 6:00pm

The second grade classes have been preparing several songs to share with you at this program.  Students should arrive at 5:45pm and meet in the Music Room (Room 401 in the blue hallway).  Please keep your children with you if you arrive more than 15 minutes before the program.

Book Fair November 7th –13th

Start your Christmas shopping, support your child’s school and save money all at once. Come & see the amazing selection of books.

  • Monday, November 10th          9:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tuesday, November 11th                 9:00am – 4:00pm
  • Wednesday, November 12th     10:00am – 7:30pm
  • Thursday, November 13th                 9:00am – 7:30pm

We are closed from 12:00 – 1:00 every day.

Cash, Visa or MasterCard Only. Sorry, no personal checks.

Cub Scout Information

1st thru 5th grade boys can still join Cub Scouts. Parents may bring new Scouts on Thursdays at 4:30 in the Media Center. Contact Mike Powell at 235-0707 for further information.


Dillon Elementary Celebrates Halloween

Dillon Elementary students celebrated Halloween by dressing up and carving pumpkins!!

Dillon Elementary Students Learn About Mindfulness

Miss Linn teaches mindfulness to all students at Dillon Elementary. Mindfulness helps students in many ways, one being attention and focus. From a 3rd grade student “Mindfulness helps me when I get angry.”


It’s Time For A Dance Party!

Middle School students will have the opportunity to learn a variety of dance routines with various musical genres that encourage physical fitness. Check the flyer below for details.

Dance Party

CAMS Math Party

Looking to get your child(s) some extra math education? We’ve got just the class for you. Starting on Nov. 17, the Carman-Ainsworth Middle School will have a Math Party for middle school students. Check the flyer for all details and registration.

Math Party

Rankin Elementary Celebrates Halloween

Randels Elementary Celebrates Halloween

Dye Elementary Celebrates Halloween

Carman-Ainsworth Maintains Rich Tradition In The Fine Arts

122406064Despite budget cuts in many areas, all C-A elementary students continue to receive music and art education, with fifth grade students having the opportunity to select band. Carman-Ainsworth Middle School is one of the few area middle schools with an orchestral program that prepares students for our high school orchestra. In addition, secondary students regularly elect to take art and theater at both secondary schools, culminating in amazing productions and pieces of art at the high school level.

Just this week, we learned of two significant accomplishments in the area of fine arts at our high school:

  • The Carman-Ainsworth High School Blue Brigade Marching Band was selected to perform at the State Championships at Ford Field again this Saturday. This special honor is one that the Blue Brigade has qualified for in four of the last five years! This year, Carman-Ainsworth High School enters the State Championships in 11th place in our division.
  • The Carman-Ainsworth High School Men’s Chorale has been invited to sing with the world-renowned University of Michigan Men’s Glee Club in their concert on November 22 at Hill Auditorium on the U of M campus in Ann Arbor. In preparation for this very special event, the U of M Choir Director has visited Carman-Ainsworth High School several times to work with our students…what a tremendous opportunity for our C-A students!

Please join us in congratulating our fine arts staff and students!!!

C-A Community Schools Continues To Be Leader in STEM Education

RoboticsSTEM (Science-Technology-Engineering-Math) is a popular term nationally. Many school districts are “jumping on the STEM bandwagon” by getting involved with Robotics and other hands-on learning experiences that engage students in science, technology, engineering and math.

Carman-Ainsworth Community Schools has been a leader in STEM education for a number of years.

  •  Our LEGO Robotics program at Rankin was among the first state championship programs and has earned 4 state championships to date, including the 2014 State Championship.
  • Randels Elementary has also built a strong LEGO Robotics program.
  • The Carman-Ainsworth High School FIRST Robotics program is a perennial statewide powerhouse, earning 3 trips to the World Championships in the last decade along with earning the 2014 State Championship.
  • To our knowledge, C-A is the only school district to win state championships at both levels in the same year!

Beyond Robotics, C-A engages elementary students in the Odyssey of the Mind, Science Fairs, and Young Inventors programs. For the first time this Fall, students at Carman-Ainsworth High School are enrolled in a Pre-Engineering program through the nationally recognized, Project Lead The Way initiative. These are tremendous opportunities to get students engaged and excited about science and math…but…to be clear, we don’t “do STEM” at the expense of other wonderful programs, including our comprehensive fine arts programs.